endorsements2-15c99d62f23333a9fbf8314ed76cfdeb-12


Google Updates

If you always wished to see your smiling face next to Google ads, you won’t have to wait much longer. Earlier this week, Google announced plans to roll out “shared endorsements,” which will grow its own advertisements with information from users who rated, reviewed or gave a +1 to the service in question.

If this seems familiar, its because this move mirrors Facebook’s “sponsored stories,” where the social network started turning users’ likes and check-ins into ads on its site, all without notifying them. Google’s shared endorsements come from a change to its terms of service.

What you need to know about Google’s shared endorsements:

  • Friends, family, “and others” may see a user’s Google profile name, photo, and any endorsement they’ve created for a company alongside ads for that company
  • The privacy scope of the content you share will affect how it is used in an endorsement
  • Users are opted in to Google’s latest update by default. To opt out of being a shared endorsement, Google users must go to the “shared endorsement” settings page, scroll to the bottom and uncheck the box that is next to the phrase “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.”